Posted by: Krys | February 14, 2010

Being Busy

I still consider myself a new mom.  We’re not through the first year yet, so that still counts, right?

Anyway, I am absolutely floored by how busy I am now that E is walking.  I thought that I was getting nothing done before she could walk, but now I’m in a constant state of “what’s she doing?”.  I’m always dropping whatever I’m doing to check on her.  She’s a pretty quiet player, so the old “if they’re quiet they’re getting into trouble” adage doesn’t really apply to her.  She plays very well on her own, and usually isn’t doing something she shouldn’t.  BUT, every once in a while, she finds something she shouldn’t and then we’re off to the races.

Consequently, the housework isn’t getting done.  All those plans I put in place before she was born have been tossed out the window.  Laundry hasn’t been properly done in months.  I mean, things are getting washed, but it’s usually only because we’re out of clean underwear, rather than because it’s my day to do the whites.  Same deal with the dishes.  We run the dishwasher when we’re out of clean bottles for E, not because we’re normal people who run the dishwasher regularly.  And the vacuuming, and the dusting, and everything else you can think of that keeps a household from falling apart.

I’ve been told that this is normal, and that the best advice other moms received was not to beat yourself up about the things that don’t get done.  Try to celebrate the little victories, like actually getting a load of laundry done!  Still, I’m frustrated by the clutter, the piles of dirty laundry and the nagging feeling that I could be doing better.

So, I’m off to do laundry now.  E’s sitting with her daddy, napping, so I have some time to myself.  Funny, time to myself used to mean I’d read a book or research something great for my professional blog.  Now I’m excited to have time to do laundry.  *sigh*

Leave a Reply

Categories

