Posted by: Krys | May 1, 2009

Laundry Routine

I hate doing laundry.  In the past, I’ve always put it off until I’m out of clean clothes.  Once I discovered I was pregnant, though, I decided that I really should quit acting like a college student, and try to do better.

In order to train myself to do laundry regularly before the baby arrived, I created a weekly schedule.  It’s worked out really well – so well, in fact, that I didn’t have enough dirty clothes to wash in separate loads last week!

The reason it works for me is that doing a load a day keeps things very small-scale.  The whole process requires less than 15 minutes of my attention.  Our clothes are pre-sorted into a 3-bin sorter (just a basic one from Target with removable canvas totes), so I grab the proper tote for the day, start the washer and then I’m free for at least 1/2 hour.  Transferring to the dryer takes just a minute or two, and then I’m free for another 45 minutes or so.  Folding doesn’t take more than 5 or 10 minutes, since they’re pretty small loads at this point, and I can put everything away in another 2 minutes.

Here’s my schedule:

  • Monday – No Laundry!
  • Tuesday – Darks (washed/rinsed in cold water)
  • Wednesday – Lights (washed/rinsed in warm water)
  • Thursday – Whites (washed in hot water, rinsed in cold water)
  • Friday – Baby Clothes & Linens (washed in warm water, rinsed in cold water, using Dreft) – I washed all of the newborn and 0-3 month clothes, as well as all blankets and linens prior to baby’s arrival.
  • Saturday – Bath Towels & Bed Sheets (washed in hot water, rinsed in cold water)
  • Sunday – Kitchen Towels (washed in hot water, rinsed in cold water) – I do this once every 2 weeks
    Dog Laundry (washed in hot water, rinsed in cold water) – I do this once every 2 weeks, alternating with the kitchen towels.

Keep in mind that we’re a family of 2 adults, 1 infant, 2 dogs, and 1 cat.  On weeks where I don’t have enough clothes to wash in one kind of load, I’ll blend the darks and lights if possible, or the whites with the bath towels and bed sheets (all of our towels and sheets are white).

Kitchen towels always get washed by themselves, in hot water, to de-grease as well as possible.  Dog laundry (their towels, bed cushions, and crate blankets) requires a thorough cleaning of both washer and dryer afterwards, to remove all of their fur, so I don’t do any other laundry on that day.

What laundry tips do you have?

Responses

  1. […] usually only because we’re out of clean underwear, rather than because it’s my day to do the whites.  Same deal with the dishes.  We run the dishwasher when we’re out of clean bottles for E, […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

