Posted by: Krys | June 11, 2010

Organizing the Diaper Bag – Toddler Style

E is still in diapers, but I no longer carry a dedicated diaper bag.  I have a beautiful purse that was designed brilliantly, with a central zipper compartment the exact right size for E’s toddler-age accessories.

Here is what I carry with me every day:

  • 2 Diapers
  • Baby wipes (Pampers, Huggies, etc.)
  • Disposable changing pad
  • Disinfecting wipes for dirty surfaces (Clorox or Lysol)
  • Disinfecting wipes for dirty hands (Wet Ones or similar)
  • Tissues
  • Band-Aids
  • Extra pacifier & pacifier tether
  • Snack-size bag of crackers (animal crackers, graham crackers, Goldfish crackers…) – I’ll admit to having munched on these while sitting in traffic, E napping in her seat, blissfully unaware.
  • Shiny, noisy toy for tantrum distraction – E has a toy cell phone that she loves to play with.  It’s about the same size as a travel packet of Kleenex, and is a sure-fire distraction when E looks like she’s starting to melt down.
  • Boogie Wipes – I don’t always carry these, but whenever E has a cold with a runny nose, I don’t go ANYWHERE without them.

The list looks daunting, and you’re probably thinking that I must be carrying around an incredibly large suitcase as my beautiful purse, but I promise you, this stuff doesn’t take up much space.  I’m still eating away at that “obscene quantity” of travel sized accoutrements I mentioned in the original diaper bag post, so everything fits quite nicely.  Furthermore, with the central pocket zipped, my purse looks stylish and chic, without a glaringly mommy vibe.

And, since I’m bragging on the glorious purse, I’ll tell you a bit about it: it is a Nicole by Nicole Miller “Shopper”, though it’s from a previous season, and I’m not seeing anything exactly like it in stores now (I’ve been looking to see if I could get one in a more summery pattern).  I bought it at JCPenney on clearance last year, and it looks like the overall design has changed bit, though the central zipper compartment is still there.

Moms – what are your must-have toddler accessories?


Responses

  1. Diaper bags needs to be made from organic fibers so that they can be easily disposed of. I always use organic diaper bags. ,'”;`

    Thanks again
    http://www.foodsupplementdigest.com“>


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

