Posted by: Krys | June 25, 2009

My New Friend, Alice

Alice.  What a fantastic online shopping experience.  I’m not quite sure what else to call it.  I mean, Alice is an “online retailer” to be sure, but it’s so much more, too.

This beautiful site opened its doors this week, in the beta stage.  And, wow - I am so impressed.  Really.

Not only can you buy stuff, they track your spending with them, so you can plan your budget.  They have a built-in reorder reminder feature that you can customize to your own usage schedule.  There’s even a chat room where you can make friends with the other hipsters who are onto Alice.

The site is well organized and visually appealing.  It feels friendly and sweet.

Alice

There’s even a rating system for the products that’s positively adorable – blue duckies.   The part I like best about the duck rating system (besides the duckies themselves) is that they don’t let you review a product until you’ve actually purchased it through Alice.  I think this is brilliant – they (and therefore their other customers) know you’ve actually bought the product.

Alice's Duckies

The prices are competitive with major retailers like Target (lower, in fact, on a few items), and I imagine would be consistently lower than Jewel/Albertsons on many products.  Shipping is always free, though they do require a minimum of 6 items per order (which they happily don’t require on your first order).  I certainly don’t see that as a lot for them to ask of their clients.  I mean, they ARE shipping everything to me in 1-2 business days, for FREE.

And, did I mention the site is gorgeous?  It’s truly a pleasure to browse through their “shelves”, much like I would do at a physical store, but this way I can do it in my PJs, with little E on my lap (or better yet, while nursing E).

Oh, I could go on and on.  And, as I place more orders through Alice, I probably will do another post on how it’s faring.

In the meantime, go check out Alice for yourself, and then come back and let me know what you think!

p.s. In the spirit of full disclosure: While Alice did not ask me to write about their site, nor do I have any affiliation with the folks over there, Alice has a fantastic Refer-A-Friend program and all of the links in this post carry a referral number that allows Alice to track new customers back to me.  Anyone who joins Alice through any of these links will receive a $10 credit after you spend your first $50, and you’ll be supporting me (and Little E), too!

Responses

  1. Thanks so much for this kind post! I’m thrilled you like Alice so much :)

    • It’s easy to like a site so well designed. Looking forward to receiving my first shipment!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

